Onto the semi-finals!

Floriana FC 4 vs 2 Birkirkara FC (After Penalty Shootout)

Floriana has qualified to the semi-finals of the FA Trophy after defeating Birkirkara in the Quarter-Final in a nail-biting contest at the National Stadium on Sunday afternoon.

After seven minutes, Birkirkara had a golden opportunity through Guillaimer who saw his free-kick parried away by Akpan. Guillaumier nearly got an assist when following a well-executed corner his cross found Carniello with the latter’s header ending in Akpan’s hands. Birkirkara started to put pressure on the Greens, Caio came one-on-one with Akpan following an N’Tow incisive pass with Caio seeing his shot blocked by Akpan.

On the hour play, Birkirkara forged ahead from a free-kick by Bonanni.

Floriana started to gain momentum and had a golden chance through Dias whose diagonal shot ended wide. Coach Potenza introduced Jan Busuttil and Augusto Caceres in order to add more pressure to Birkirkara. The Greens notched the equalizer when Jurgen Pisani had a good run on the left flank with the ball being crossed inside the area meeting Caceres who unmarked placed the ball behind the hapless Hogg to give Floriana the equalizer.

Floriana once again nearly forged ahead when Busuttil saw his chance ending over the bar. With the Game ending in a stalemate, extra-time was next..and Birkirkara nearly got the winning goal following an over-head kick by Falcone, with the Argentinean shot parried away by Akpan.

Following a nail-biting one-hundred twenty minutes.. the game went to penalties and that’s where the Greens won it, with Akpan parrying away three penalties. Full sequence below;

Kristian Keqi scored the first penalty for Floriana, Isaac Ntow’s penalty was parried by Akpan; Enzo Ruiz hit the crossbar, Matthew Guillaumier levelled matters for Birkirkara; Jan Busuttil’s penalty was neutralized by Hogg, Yannick Yankam was also saved by Akpan; Tiago Adan Fonseca scored to put Floriana 3-2 ahead while Diego Capel’s penalty was neutralized by Akpan; Terence Vella made no mistake to put Floriana in the semi-finals.

FLORIANA FC Starting XI; Ini Etim Akpan, Moustapha Beye, Enzo Ruiz, Clyde Borg (69’ Jan Busuttil), Kristian Keqi, Jurgen Pisani, Matias Nicolas Garcia, Alex Cini (120+2′ Terence Vella), Marcelo Dias (73’ Augusto Rene Caseres), Ryan Camenzuli, Tiago Adan Fonseca.

Share Now
Alan Michael Vella

Experienced ICT Officer with a demonstrated history of working in the information technology and services industry. Skilled in Administration, IT Service Management, , with a strong support background...

All Posts

Related Post

Leave us a reply