20 times Floriana!

Floriana FC 2 vs 0 Sliema Wanderers FC.

In a hot afternoon at the Ta’Qali National Stadium, Floriana won the twentieth FA Trophy in their history and the first one with the newly introduced FA Trophy by the Malta Football Association earlier this year.

Floriana couldn’t start the match any better when after four minutes a dipping cross by Maurizio Vella found Enzo Ruiz, the towering Argentine defender headed past Sarao with a brilliant header to give Floriana an early lead into the game. On the half an hour play Floriana almost grabbed their second goal when Andre’ Scicluna passed to Mario Fontanella with the latter seeing his shot scraping the post. Minutes before half time Floriana almost scored again it was again Ruiz with the Argentinean blasting a shot from a freekick with the Sliema goalkeeper saving with difficulty.

Right after the break Floriana continued to press, with Varela seeing his chance parried away by Sarao. Sliema called on for a penalty when Enrico Pepe seemed like handling the ball inside the area but referee Tonna played play on to put away the Wanderers protests away. Floriana scored their second one after an hour of play, but the goal was strangely disallowed for an dubious offside position signalled by the referee Tonna.  Sliema almost scored when off a Temile cross Jean Paul Farrugia headed wide. In the injury time Floriana scored their second , it was Steve Pisani who swiftly shifted position dribbling away some Sliema players passing the ball onto Clyde Borg with the latter slotting the ball behind Sarao to score the second  of the game, with the Floriana faitfhul going onto raptures in the stand!

It was twenty times Floriana! Supporters were gathering and chanting !!

With this FA Trophy triumph Floriana have qualified for the Europa League next season apart from winning the trophy for the twentieth time in the club’s glorious history!

FLORIANA FC Starting XI; Justin Haber, Andre Scicluna, Enrico Pepe, Enzo Ruiz, Steve Pisani, Ignacio Varela, Sebastian Nayar, Maurizio Vella (72′ Alex Cini), Nicolas Chiesa (86′ Clyde Borg), Mario Fontanella, Ryan Camenzuli.
Subs not used: Matthew Grech, Mattia Zarb, Jurgen Pisani, Jake Stenson, Zach Camilleri.

Coach: Giovanni Tedesco


Share Now
Alan Michael Vella

Experienced ICT Officer with a demonstrated history of working in the information technology and services industry. Skilled in Administration, IT Service Management, , with a strong support background...

All Posts

Related Post


All Square.


Rally and Event.

Leave us a reply